Simple Task Got Complicated!

May 9, 2006 at 11:12 am 1 comment

Last Friday (May 5, 2006), I called my credit union to inquire on the closing checking account process. I had not use this account for the last 5 years but I still have about $450+ that just sit there. There is really no point of keeping it. The representative told me to write myself a check for the total amount and then to call in later to close the account. I wrote myself a check over the weekend and last night, my current checking account showed that amount in the online statement.

I called this morning (May 9, 2006) to close the account. The representative told me that the total amount is still there and I should call in later. This checking account requires a balance of $450 minimum, else the bank charge a $5 fee. I asked the representative since I'm cashing everything out, would the bank still charge a fee? He did not answered my question but told me that I should just call earlier and request the bank to send me a check of the total amount.

I did call in but the previous representative told me to write myself a check. If I did not call in before-hand, I would blame myself. But I did call in and asked but were told a different story. What's with the discrepancy? I thought closing this checking account would just be simple phone call but it's turning out to be more complicate than that.

Entry filed under: Cash, General.

Hello world! ING to GMAC

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Julie  |  May 22, 2006 at 1:13 am

    I think it’s a good thing that you’re closing the account. Sounds like they are a bunch of idiots. Any bank should simply close the account and then send you a check for the remaining balance. Sounds very annoying. And if they do try to charge you a fee then I suggest you talk to a manager and don’t take “no” for an answer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Deals

ING Saving Account - Use these links to get
-$25 Sign On Bonus
-$25 Sign On Bonus

To Do List


* Retirement: 401K, IRA, Roth IRA
* Investment
* Research life and disability insurance
* Buy a car
* Credit Check

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 57,004 hits

