Reason Why Annual Credit Check is Necessary

May 18, 2006 at 11:17 pm 5 comments

Thanks to the entry by The Budgeting Babe, I ordered a copy of my credit report from Experian. Last time I checked my credit report was 2004. There were many mistakes then but I called each of the agencies and corrected all the errors. Thus, I was surprised to see 3 errors on this new credit report. One is a credit card account that I have no recollection of. The other two are for credit cards I already closed but for some reason, it still being shown as open. I disputed these 3 errors, hopefully the agency will correct these mistakes soon.

Note to self: get credit report from the other 2 companies (do one  in Aug and another in Nov).

Entry filed under: General.

ING to GMAC 401K – How Much Should You Contribute?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dennis T Cheung  |  May 19, 2006 at 1:36 am

    The second link is busted…

    Reply
  • 2. MoneyBabble  |  May 21, 2006 at 7:41 pm

    Thanks Dennis. It’s fix now.

    Reply
  • 3. Danny  |  May 21, 2006 at 9:27 pm

    Uh, why didn’t/don’t you get the free annual credit report? -_- I’ve gotten it for each of the past 2 years, and the little errors seem to help rather than hurt my credit score 😛

    Reply
  • 4. Julie  |  May 22, 2006 at 2:56 am

    I know you can get a free credit report if you apply for and are turned down for credit. Also, there are some credit review things that will give you a free credit report for trying their service (like for $1 or so) but after that you have to pay.

    Are we otherwise allowed to get a free credit report from each agency for free every year by directly contacting company? Right now, I’m just getting the loan approved for building my house so I’ve gotten a recent look at my credit report.

    Reply
  • 5. Danny  |  May 22, 2006 at 11:23 pm

    Jenny, you can forward this link to the unknowing…

    http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/pubs/credit/freereports.htm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Deals

ING Saving Account - Use these links to get
-$25 Sign On Bonus
-$25 Sign On Bonus

To Do List


* Retirement: 401K, IRA, Roth IRA
* Investment
* Research life and disability insurance
* Buy a car
* Credit Check

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 57,004 hits

