Cingular Contract and New Phones

May 31, 2006 at 9:24 pm 3 comments

Thanks everyone for all the great inputs. Your feedbacks helped me made better decision and totally encouraged me to write more.

I wanted to get the cell phone issue out of the way before vacation, so I signed a 2 years contract with Cingular on May 24, 2006 and am extremely happy with the deal that I got.

I found out that the corporate discount can be apply even after the contract was signed. Since internet usually provided the best deal, I searched all over the net last Tuesday night (23rd) for the best deals. The best deal I found was on EasyCellPhones. I wanted Sony Ericsson w600i because in addition to being a cell phone, it’s also a radio and mp3 player. Plus I love its bright orange body. The deal consists of 2 years contract, 2 w600i and 2 crappy phones, and no corporate discount. I never ordered cell phone plan over the net (plus I wanted a phone NOW), so I decided to call more Chinese wireless dealers on Wednesday to see if anyone can match that deal. Unfortunately, all the local wireless dealers that I called had stop working with Cingular. The only Chinese dealer that still work with Cingular is in the 99 Ranch plaza but I hate going there because it always take hours to find parking (PS. The Chinese Cingular store mailed me a $20 coupon that’d expire June 15 after I signed the contract. Email me if you want it). Afterall those fruitless calls, I went to the official Cingular store just because it’s really close to my house. I went there the week before to get an idea of the plans that Cingular offered. The sales guy was really nice but their advertise offers sucks (i.e. Razor for $50 instead of free like elsewhere).  I was plan to order the phone that night on easycellphones, but figured it couldn't hurt to ask. I told the guy I wanted 4 lines (family plan) + 4 Sony Ericsson w600i; but totally expected him to laugh at my face. Imagine my surprise when he said “ok.” After rebate, I only paid tax. Furthermore, I also got corporate discount right away. *YAY*

I been playing with the w600i today, it’s awesome! I can transfer my favorite songs and videos to the phone, it can also capture pictures and videos, and the radio reception is excellent; I love it!!!

Next entry: Buying car insurance.

Entry filed under: Deals and Discounts, Expenses.

Buying a New Cell Phone Plan It Pays to Shop Around…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  June 1, 2006 at 5:20 am

    Google

    Google news and reviews

    Reply
  • 2. Danny  |  June 1, 2006 at 4:48 pm

    hehe, now you have one of many “little brothers” of my phone 😛 (k750i == w800) edge is mostly useless in this part of the world, but the quad band will help… and being quad-band means it’s a cingular phone 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Guest  |  November 6, 2006 at 10:07 am

    Very interesting article

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Deals

ING Saving Account - Use these links to get
-$25 Sign On Bonus
-$25 Sign On Bonus

To Do List


* Retirement: 401K, IRA, Roth IRA
* Investment
* Research life and disability insurance
* Buy a car
* Credit Check

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 57,002 hits

